Targa New Zealand: day one pace setters lead the way

27 October, 2015

Still in front at the end of the second gruelling day (Tuesday, October 27) of Targa New Zealand 2015, Glenn Inkster and Spencer Winn (Mitsubishi Evo 8) have an impressive lead over five-time event winner Tony Quinn and co-driver Naomi Tillet (2008 Nissan GT-R) by just four minutes and 36 seconds.

Information on both the main (six-day) 2015 Targa New Zealand and two-day Targa Regional Rally events can be found in the latest copy of (November 2015) New Zealand Classic Car magazine.


Andrew Simms Allcomers 4WD

  1. Glenn Inkster / Spencer Winn (2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8) 01:32:57
  2. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett (2008 Nissan GTR) 01:36:21
  3. Brian Green / Fleur Pedersen (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) 1:42:06
  4. David Rogers / Aidan Kelly (2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) 01:43:52
  5. Matthew Wales / Mitchell Osborne (2006 Mitsubishi Evolution 9) 01:46:17
  6. Graeme Wong / Kim Blatchley (1998 Subaru Impreza Type R) 01:48:15

Metalaman Classic 2WD

  1. Mark Kirk-Burnnand / Chris Kirk-Burnnand (1987 BMW M3) 01:40:49
  2. Bevan Claridge / Campbell Tannock (1992 Holden Commodore) 01:41:00
  3. Bruce Farley / Glen Warner (1986 BMW 325 325) 01:42:44
  4. Ashton Wood / Chris Lancaster (1976 Ford Escort RS1800) 01:45:38
  5. Keith Callinan / Mary Anne Callinan (1977 Ford Escort) 01:45:46
  6. Barry Kirk-Burnannd / Dave Ocarroll (1989 BMW M3) 01:46:54

Instra.com Modern 2WD

  1. Clark Proctor / Sue O’Neill (1973 Escort MK1) 01:39:36
  2. Martin Dippie / Jona Grant (2007 Porsche GT3 RS) 01:39:43
  3. Robert Darrington / David Abetz (2002 BMW M3) 01:41:45
  4. Grant Aitken / Caroline Cullimore (2013 Toyota 86 RC) 01:41:50
  5. Steven Kirk-Burnnand / Mick Hay (1994 BMW 318ti) 01:42:23
  6. Chris Lewis / Kieran Anstis (2013 Toyota TR86) 01:42:46

Also retaining their class lead in Instra.com Modern 2WD were Clark Proctor and Sue O’Neill (Ford Escort/Nissan V6)

Defending Targa New Zealand title-holders Glenn Inkster and Spencer Winn extended their lead in the 2015 Targa New Zealand event from Auckland to Palmerston North

Meanwhile, getting the feel for their new car was Mike Lowe and co-driver Philip Sutton in the Enzed Abarth

Image credit: Fast Company / ProShotz

Travelling companion

It’s easy to see why the Morris Minor Traveller was one of the best-loved variants of the Morris Minor. Introduced in 1953, it was equipped with the same independent torsion bar front suspension, drum brakes, and rack and pinion steering as its saloon sibling but, with their foldable rear seat increasing versatility, many Travellers were used as trade vehicles, says Derek Goddard. Derek and Gail Goddard, the owners of this superbly restored example, have run Morris Minors since before they were married in 1974.
“Our honeymoon vehicle was a blue Morris Minor van — it was a rust bucket,” says Derek.

Super Leicht Gullwing

It’s fair to say that nothing much in the classic Mercedes world gets past Mercedes-Benz Club stalwart Garry Boyce so it wasn’t surprising to learn that around 15 years ago he had sniffed out an extremely rare 300SL lightweight Gullwing as well as a 1958 300SL Roadster hiding away in the Waikato. The cars were not for sale but Garry eventually managed to persuade the owner to allow him and his restoration team to take a look at the Roadster. They discovered a very distressed but largely unmolested car. The car was so original that the body had never been off the chassis, meaning most of the parts and fittings were still present and correct, as they had been fitted by the factory.