Close this search box.

Targa New Zealand: defending champions lead the way

27 October, 2015

Glenn Inkster and Spencer Winn have made an early charge in their Mitsubishi Evo 8 to the top of the leader board after the first day of the 21st annual Targa New Zealand rally event on Monday, October 26.  

Information on both the main (six-day) 2015 Targa New Zealand and the two-day Targa Regional Rally events can be found in the latest copy (November 2015) of New Zealand Classic Car magazine.

Day one results:

Andrew Simms Allcomers 4WD

  1. Glenn Inkster / Spencer Winn (2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8) 00:18:04
  2. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett (2008 Nissan GT-R) 00:18:38
  3. Jason Gill / Mark  Robinson (2005 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO9) 00:18:47
  4. Nic de Waal / Guy Hodgson (2002 Subaru Impreza) 00:19:07
  5. David Rogers / Aidan Kelly (2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X RS) 00:20:17
  6. Brian Green / Fleur Pedersen (2010 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X RS) 00:20:20

Metalman Classic 2WD

  1. Bevan Claridge / Campbell Tannock (1992 Holden Commodore) 00:19:33
  2. Jason Easton / Campbell Ward (1966 Ford Mustang) 00:19:35
  3. Mark and Chris Kirk-Burnnand (1987 BMW M3) 00:19:37
  4. Bruce Farley / Glen Warner (1986 BMW 325) 00:20:17
  5. Ashton Wood / Chris Lancaster (1976 Ford Escort RS1800) 00:20:35
  6. Barry Kirk Burnannd / Dave O’Carroll (1989 BMW M3) 00:20:48 Modern 2WD

  1. Clark Proctor / Sue O’Neill (1973 Escort MK1) 00:19:18
  2. Martin Dippie / Jona Grant (2007 Porsche GT3 RS) 00:19:37
  3. Marcus Van Klink / Dave Neill (2004 Citroen C2 Super 1600) 00:19:40
  4. Robert Darrington / David Abetz (2002 BMW M3) 00:19:53
  5. Grant Aitken / Caroline Cullimore (2013 Toyota 86 RC) 00:19:54
  6. Andre Cowan / Brett Cowan (1992 BMW 325i) 00:19:58

Defending Targa New Zealand title-holders Glenn Inkster and Spencer Winn (Mitsubishi Evo 8) have taken an early lead in the 2015 Targa NZ event from Auckland to Palmerston North

Leading the Modern 2WD class is Clark Proctor and Sue O’Neill (Ford Escort / Nissan V6)

Third in Metalman Classic 2WD are Mark and Chris Kirk-Burnnand in their BMW M3

Photo credit: Fast Company / ProShotz





Taipan – surpassing interest

“It’s merely a passing interest,” insists Selby — despite owning three variants of the classic VW Beetle, including an unusual VW van that was sold as a body kit for a Subaru. In his defence he points to a 1961 Ford Thunderbird, a car that he converted to right-hand drive. However, on the VW side of the ledger, since he opened Allison Autos in Whanganui 27 years ago, Selby has built 15 VW-powered Formula First cars, followed by a beach buggy, restored a derelict Karmann Ghia, and hot-rodded a common or garden Beetle into something that has to be seen to be believed. As speed is not something generally associated with classic VWs, though, Selby is still waiting for this particular modification to catch on amongst the hot rod faithful.

Travelling companion

It’s easy to see why the Morris Minor Traveller was one of the best-loved variants of the Morris Minor. Introduced in 1953, it was equipped with the same independent torsion bar front suspension, drum brakes, and rack and pinion steering as its saloon sibling but, with their foldable rear seat increasing versatility, many Travellers were used as trade vehicles, says Derek Goddard. Derek and Gail Goddard, the owners of this superbly restored example, have run Morris Minors since before they were married in 1974.
“Our honeymoon vehicle was a blue Morris Minor van — it was a rust bucket,” says Derek.